Skip navigation

So this weekend we got Starz for free.  Our cable provider does that from time to time to try to coerce us into subscribing to the pay channels.  We’ve fallen for it in the past but now we know that they only show the good stuff during the free weekend.  This time we got hip to their game and just DVR’d all the stuff we want to see.  Maybe it’ll disappear after the weekend is over, in which case we’ll never get to everything.

We watched No Country For Old Men first, even though we had already seen it in the theater.  It’s still good.  We also watched Green Street Hooligans, starring Frodo Baggins.  When that movie came out a year or two ago I really wanted to see it but I never got around to it.  Now I wish I didn’t see it.  It was really dumb.  I mean, Frodo plays this kid who gets wrongly expelled from Harvard, then goes to visit his sister in England.  He hooks up with a bunch of soccer hooligans and even though he’s never been in a fight in his life he becomes a big time hooligan in like two seconds.  Some other stuff happens too but it’s too dumb to talk about.  Mr. Rizzuto stopped watching it about halfway through but I hate not finishing what I started.

Also, we watched Gone Baby Gone.  It was really good, although Mr. Rizzuto and I disagreed about the ending.  He’s wrong, I’m right, but I won’t tell you why in case you want to see it for yourself.  Anyway, I tend to think that Ben Afflek is a douchbage, but he directed it and I have to say he did a good job.  It was based on a book by Dennis Lehane, who also wrote Mystic River.  That was a good movie also, but in this one you really got the sense that the characters were real Boston blue collar stiffs, whereas in Mystic River it just seemed like actors.

Tonight I will watch The Triplets of Belleville.  Stay tuned for a review.  I also recorded Haven, featuring my boyfriend Orlando, but I think that comes on after the free weekend is over.  I can tell you what happens in that movie though, Orlando takes his shirt off.  I don’t really remember anything else.  Oh, except that his leading lady could be my twin (see?  OK, maybe not.) which makes it kinda cool.

That is all.

12 Comments

  1. Ha. I’ve seen Greenstreet Hooligans before. My brother rented it. ‘Twas dumb.

  2. … Haven!

    Yes he takes his shirt off and he says
    ‘in a phucking cubicle’ in one heavy seen. He’s a brilliant actor.

  3. In a phucking cubicle? Huh? Don’t remember.

    Now that I think about it, I might not have watched the whole thing at all.

    • Akeelers a.k.a.glamma_puss
    • Posted January 4, 2009 at 9:29 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I have Haven on DVD. I bought it on clearance at a store closing for $3. I want my money back. I’m so ashamed. 😦

  4. It was the best scene, though, Wanda. It was when he confronted Zoe’s bro wif a gun in his hand or sumthing.

  5. We haven’t had cable in so long I’d get lost in all the channels.

  6. I watched Gone Baby Gone over Christmas week (my son and I), on Netflix. It was one of those that you can “watch now” and not have to order the DVD. I have my PC hooked up to the TV so I can watch the movies on TV on a larger screen.

    Anyway, I thought it was a pretty good movie. I was surprised how good it was.

    And yeah, you’re probably right!

  7. have barely enough time to watch free to air TV without worrying about pay TV as well. I have a hundred hours of stuff recorded on the DVD hard drive that I’ll never get to watch. And a cabinet full of DVDs that I’ll probably never get to watch. And this afternoon after work I went on a wild goose chase looking for Anne of Green Gables (not the girl, the mini series).

  8. Corina, do you think Casey Afflek did the right thing at the end?

  9. Anners, he didn’t say “in a phucking cubicle.” He said: “I just saw her getting phucked in a cubicle.” Which was much more awesome.

  10. In fact, I think it’ll be my new tagline at the other blog.

    • Anners Scribonia aka Gunnedah Hobag
    • Posted January 6, 2009 at 2:52 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    oh sorry. I have a bad memory.


Leave a Reply

