Skip navigation

Howdy.

I’ve been busy of late, as has everyone I guess.  The holidays were great this year, but too much of a good thing, you know?  My parents are STILL HERE.  I appreciate the free babysitting but…you know.

You’ll all be happy to know that I’ve made it my New Year’s resolution to vistit all of your blogs more regularly in 2009.  Except you guys that post too gd much.  Sheesh.  If you only knew the crippling guilt I felt every time I looked at my Google reader you’d…I don’t know what you’d do.  You’d feel pretty bad I guess.  Anyway, I promise I’ll visit more, K?

The other thing I wanted to tell you was that since I now have free babysitting Mr. Rizzuto and I went to see Valkyrie last night.  I know, Tom Cruise is a douchebag, Scientology is the bunk, and the reviews were crap, but I had the urge to see it anyway.  Take my advice folks, the movie rocked the Casbah, as my excellent friend Stevo would say.  They said that Tom Cruise was “distractingly bad”, but he really wasn’t.  And anyway, how could you not see a movie with Bill Nighy, Kenneth Branagh, Tom Wilkenson and Terrance Stamp?  And Tom Cruise only has one eye!  Anyway, I don’t want to give away too much because Quill says he wants to find out for himself if the plot to kill Hitler was successful.  I hope you’re not too disappointed with the ending Quill, but I must tell you that even though I knew how it ended (lucky guess) and I was still on the edge of my seat for the whole movie.  The best part was when some of them thought Hitler was dead and they were trying to restore order, and others thought he wasn’t dead and they were trying to restore order, and everyone wanted to make sure they ended up on the right side of things, and they were all running around saying “But I was just following orders!  I was just following orders!”

(OK, no one really said that, but that’s what I imagined they were saying in the midst of everything, and it made me laugh.)

Oh, but we’re supposed to be boycotting.  I didn’t know about that until after I saw the movie, so sorry about that to all you anti-Scientologists.  I almost always boycott when I’m supposed to, I want to be on the right side of things, but you know how it goes.

Anyhoo, I’ll see you guys next year, I’ll try to be less boring then.

14 Comments

  1. Merry belated Christmas, Wanda!

    I got your card Christmas Eve, and printed the photo of your beautiful family to go with it. It arrived to late to send one back, so I guess I owe you a Valentine. 😉

    You came out on the right side of things anyway. A bunch of us have joined in thought and decided to boycott the boycotts. LOL

  2. You printed a pic of us? Aww, shucks Shawn.

  3. I didn’t know about the boycott so thanks for telling me. I probably would not go see it anyway because I really do not like Tom.

    BTW, if you go see Milk, don’t see it at a Century theater because the owner of Century gave a lot of money to the Yes On 8 campaign in California. I just found that out when I told my son I wanted to go see it. See, I have smart kids!

  4. That’s good to know Corina. Milk was our second choice, but I don’t know if we have any Century theaters around here. I’ll be on the lookout.

  5. My mom is STILL HERE too. Well, she went to Phoenix for a couple days and left a seven year old with me, so I think you ended up on the right side of this free babysitting thing and I’m a dummy.

  6. Good to know the one-eyed monster didn’t ruin the picture. (That could be taken so many ways).

  7. Ha!

  8. hey wanda! jus stopping by to say hi!
    happy holidays and free babysitting roks!
    thing is, they hav to do it, or they are considered horrible grandparents haha!

  9. Hi Afers!

    • Anners Scribonia aka Gunnedah Hobag
    • Posted December 31, 2008 at 11:24 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Terrence Stamp is my old man crush!!! Have you seen The Limey? Greatest movie of the 90s.

  10. Yes Anners! In fact, do you have Starz? It’s on some time this week.

  11. Did I miss it?! Yes, I have Starz. I hope I didn’t miss it…

  12. What with the boycotting of this and that, my policy of never seeing a movie in the theater is starting to look pretty smart.

    So I guess I’ll never find out whether they successfully murdered Hitler … at least not until the film comes out on DVD.

  13. You’d be surprised at how many people have said that to me already David.


Leave a Reply

