Skip navigation

Greetings!

As promised, I have resurrected this blog.  Here I will post updates on my incredibly boring life and some other stuff.  If you still want to read about my gay boyfriend Orlando you can do so at the old spot, www.wandarizzuto.com.

So, to update.  I took a blogging break sometime in October to get my shit together and do NaNoWriMo.  Well, my shit is still in a million pieces and I failed at NaNoWriMo, but really, what did you expect?  Actually, things were going really well with my sess novel until I got sick somewhere in week 3, then I had to start working again so that was pretty much the end of that.  At least it wasn’t as bad as last year when I broke my ass.  Remember that?

Oh, and yes, you read correctly.  I am once again gainfully employed.  I know, I talked a lot of cocky about being a stay at home mom and all that, but whatever.  The local college (which will forever be referred to here as The College) made me an offer I couldn’t refuse.  Mr. Rizzuto wants to put a sunroom on the house, so I guess I’ll work until we have the money for that.

Or maybe not.  You see, on about my second day working at The College, I came to a rather startling realization.  Even though I’ve worked in financial aid for about 9 years, I’ve never worked at a school where I’d actually think about sending my kids until now.  So even though I knew how expensive college was, the reality of the situation hit me for the first time.  First, if I want to send both of my kids to a private college, and if college costs don’t increase at all over the next several years, it’ll cost me about $250,000.  Second, I don’t have $250,000.  All is not lost though, if I keep working there until the kids finish they can go to The College for free.  Well, they won’t have to pay tuition, I’m on my own for room and board, books, etc.  The only problem is both of the kids won’t be done with college for another 22 years.  Sigh.

In other news, tomorrow is my 39th birthday.  You know what that means, don’t you?  It means I have exactly 366 days left in my 30’s.  Only 366 more days until I reach middle age.  That is so depressing.

Anyway, I have nothing else for right now.  Welcome back to my corner of the internets, be seeing ya.

15 Comments

  1. Bugger, bugger, bugger. And another bugger for good measure. I knew your birthday was sometime in the first three weeks of December (because I remembered you are a Saggitarius) but I didn’t know it was tomorrow.

    Bugger it woman! I’m totally unprepared!

    Happy Birthday!

    Is Mr R going to build the sunroom himself? Can we expect lots of hilarious DIY disaster stories?

  2. I am pleased to see you back.

  3. Happy Birthday, Wanda!!

  4. Please, you are a BABY. I’ve seen you, so I know. I mean, young, and wicked cool.

    You can always just stay 39 forever, lots of people do. Or age backward, like us Orkans. 😉

  5. Welcome back dearie. Your voice has been missed.

  6. Thanks guys!

    Joders, it’s all good. Daners left me some pics of Orly and a Thin Lizzy video!

  7. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

  8. Thanks Jacks!!!!

  9. Please allow me to be the first to wish you a happy after-birthday! I seem to be somehow running a day behind on everything which is actually pretty good for me. Back in mid-August I was two weeks behind at work.

    • Akeelers a.k.a.glamma_puss
    • Posted December 6, 2008 at 7:36 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Happy Belated, Wanda! Don’t worry about middle age because you’re only as young as you feel. I still lie about being 21, although people aren’t buying it as much as they used to.

  10. Also: congrats on the job. I know that some people love it, but in my experience, the “joy” of being a SAHM was, uh, overrated.

    Just not the type, I guess.

  11. You got a job! Why? You have a perfectly reasonable excuse for being unemployed and you’re taking a pass?!

    $250,000 WTF? Doe they hand out diamond encrusted diplomas or something? Is it one of those fancy prestigous places? Maybe you should just move to California when you’re kids get older. Then they can go to one of those good public colleges and you can give up work and be a beach bum.

  12. No Janers, the fancy prestigious place is down the street. I don’t even wanna talk about how much that one costs.

  13. I can vouch for the public colleges in California. Good and cheap. If you’re a resiedent, that is.

    I already wished you a happy birthday, but how about I wish you a happy day?

    Oh, and you didn’t tell me you wuz working again!

    Your sess novel. Hee.

  14. I can vouch for the public colleges in California. Good and cheap. If you’re a resident, that is.

    I already wished you a happy birthday, but how about I wish you a happy day?

    Oh, and you didn’t tell me you wuz working again!

    Your sess novel. Hee.


Leave a Reply

