Skip navigation

Hiya.  I’m still on hiatus, but I thought I’d pop in and let you know what’s going on with me and the bloggage.  If you care, of course.

First, it’s been a sad week in the Rizzuto household.  I’ve been telling you about my dog, Puppy Rizzuto, and how she hasn’t been doing very well in the last year or so.  Well, a few days ago, after much waffling and second-guessing, we finally put her down.  Boo.

Mr. Rizzuto is awesome, he took one for the team and made the final trip to the vet.  He had the option of going out while the vet did the deed, but instead he stayed with her the whole time and brought her home after it was over.  Janey doesn’t really understand what is going on, but Dante has been really great.  He hasn’t cried and he helped dig her grave out in the yard.  He even had the idea to bury her with a picture of the two of them and put her dog dish on top.

I, on the other hand, have been a wreck.  In some ways it’s good that she’s buried in the back yard because it’s like she’s still with us.  It sucks though because I find myself worrying about her being outside in the cold and rain.  It’s stupid, I know.  Every morning I look out the bathroom window at her and I feel sad.  We put her down on Thursday and I’ve cried for her a little every day since then.  Maybe there will come a day when I won’t cry anymore, but maybe not.

Sorry for the sadness.  In other news, I’ll still be doing NaNoWriMo in November, so I’ll be on hiatus until at least then.  I think I’m over my internet depression, so I will be back soon.  And I think I’ve found a solution to my Mexicali Soup problem.  Ready?  OK.  If you’re at all interested in the Orlando Chronicles, don’t do anything.  This blog will most likely be all Orlando, all the time.  If you’re interested in hearing about my boring life and other adventures you can read about them at my old WordPress blog, which I’ll be resurrecting shortly.  If you’re one of those people that wants to read about Orlando and my boring life, God love ya!  I am a most interesting creature, aren’t I?

So happy Halloween, Thanksgiving and whatever other holidays come up between now and December.  Later.

 

29 Comments

  1. Sorry to hear about your dog *hugs* It’s always so hard losing a pet.

  2. Thanks Ick. (Is it OK if I call you Ick? I have a thing for nicknames.)

  3. ((Wanda))
    It does get easier, but you never forget them. My Shiloh passed two years ago and sometimes it still catches me off guard and I shed a tear or two.
    You never realize how big a part they were in your life until they’re gone.

    Hugs to you and prayers for you.

  4. Awwwww….so sorry about Puppy.

  5. I’m so sorry for your loss, Wanda.

    Sending you a big internet-hug.

  6. Wanda, I’m so sorry to hear about Puppy. I’m with Shawn. It does eventually get easier, but there will always be a time when it will catch you unawares. Or you’ll happen across something that reminds you of her. I’m thinking of you and sending you big hugs.

    Good luck with NaNoWriMo. Have heaps of fun, okay?

    Happy Halloween, Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Birthday to you (okay, I know it’s not for a few weeks yet).

    See you in December!

  7. Thanks for the cyber hugs peeps, they’re always welcome.

  8. So sorry for you loss Wanders. Here’s more (((cyberhugs))).

    Puppy Rizutto will be sorely missed. 😦

  9. {{{Sissy}}} Time to get The Tenth Good Thing About Barney — even though Barney is a cat — and a bag of spring bulbs. Hang in there! 🙂

  10. I am sorry for your loss and anything more I say will just sound stupid.

    Got them snow tires yet?

    See? I told ya.

  11. Sad news about Puppy. My condolences to you and your family.

  12. So sorry to hear for the loss of puppy Wanda!!!! Mine hasnt been doing to well either the last year and we’re preparing for the worst. My condolences..

    Hugs!!!!

  13. Aww, I’m sorry about Noggin. More cyber hugs from me.

  14. Aw, I’m sorry about your puppy, Wanda. HUgs to you

  15. Aw, Wanda, I’m so sorry to hear about Puppy. *hugs* I know how hard it is to put down a pet. Puppy will surely be missed!

  16. Aw, Wanda, I feel like crying too. Poor behbehs, all of you. I’ll be thinking of you guys.

    But at least that’s good news about your blogs. I know all the Oral fans are happy to hear about it.

  17. I’m sorry about the doggie. I know what it’s like to lose a pet that was actually a member of the family. We lost the cat we had for sixteen years last year. Unfortunately, we had to cremate because it is illegal to bury a pet in the backyard where I was living at the time. We had nosey neighbors so we were sure they’d call the cops on us. As it turned out, I moved out of state so it’s probably just as well that we didn’t bury him in the yard.

    It’ll get better. Really. It just takes time.

  18. sorry to hear bout you doggie too 😦 thats really hard to get over ….

    glad to see you haven’t gone anywhere, i had got the impression that you weren’t blogging anymore – i was wondering what on earth i was going to do with boring spaces at work lol

  19. I’m so sorry to hear about your puppy…it’s so tough to lose them when they have such a tight hold of your heart.

    • Anners Scribonia Caesar
    • Posted November 1, 2008 at 2:54 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Sorry to hear about Puppy Rizzuto, Wanda. Hugs galore. 😦
    And sorry so late! I thought you stopped blogging…

    I will see you at the old deadapan site once your Novel is writ.

  20. Wanders, you poor thing. You tried to get Orly’s phone number all this time. All you should have done is live in CA and he would be calling you now!

  21. Hey, Wanda. My condolences and sympathies on the loss of Puppy. We lost both pets within a year, and I still miss them both…

    Good luck on NaNoWriMo; I’m doing the academic version thereof with a first draft of my paper due this week. Tomorrow is the preferred due date, Friday p.m. the latest possible. Ack.

  22. Hey Wanda – so sorry to hear about Puppy Rizzuto. I cried for my Dex about 2 weeks – mostly wrenching sobs in the shower in the middle of tne night when I couldn’t sleep and was missing him curled up on my feet. I still think I see him whenever there is something dark low to the floor (a purse, a shopping bag, a sweater) and if Hubby moves just right at night, I swear I feel Dex jumping onto the bed. I doubt it will ever be completely gone, but it gets easier.

    Good luck on your writing – I look forward to hearing more about it and your boring life on WordPress in future!

  23. Hey, sorry about the puppy, but it’s okay, all dogs go to heaven, so she’s fine. My eleven year old Husky has been slowing down a lot lately, and losing wieght. I feel you.
    Oh, who is this “orlando” person of which you speak?
    He sounds like a little girlie man.
    **snicker**

  24. Wanda I’m really sorry. It’s so hard losing a pet, they’re part of the family.

    Don’t hold back in shedding tears. It’s very important to process your emotions.

    How is Noggin doing with his mum leaving?

  25. Funny you should ask Janers, we were just talking about that. Noggin is a different dog. He’s been a lot more reserved and he’s been sleeping in Janey’s room, which he never did before. I think he’s depressed.

  26. I think that kind of thing is to be expected. My cousin’s dog was depressed after their neighbour’s dog died. She recovered though, they just need some time to grieve – just like us people do.

    If he doesn’t recover after a while it might be worth considering adopting another dog.

  27. Oh, Noggin’s mom died. 😦

    I feel silly. My comment still stands though, I’m sorry about your dog.

    And I’m sorry Noggin is depressed.

  28. It’s cool Jennifer, and thanks.


Leave a Reply

