Skip navigation

Today is my one year blog anniversary.  A lot has happened in the past year.  My goal when I first start to write here at Deadpan was to flex my writing muscle a bit.  I also wanted to do something to set this blog apart from the others, ergo my dedication to hooking up with the lovely Mr. Bloom.  He still hasn’t called me, but I have had the great fortune to meet loads of other people.  Believe it or not, I’ve had 25,735 page views and 3,080 comments, as well as visitors from all over the U.S. as well as all 7 continents.  (OK, maybe not Antarctica.)

You may have noticed that my internet presence has been a bit lacking these days.  Not only have I slacked off in the posting department, but I haven’t been commenting very much on other blogs either.  Sorry for that.  It might be my annual internet depression, or it could very well be something else.  In any event, I don’t much feel like writing anymore.

When I was a kid in school, I read a story called Mexicali Soup.  It was about a large Mexican family that had recently come to the U.S.  The mother of the family was famous for cooking Mexicali soup, which was a soup that had all different kinds of vegetables in it.  One day while cooking the soup, each of her family memebers came to her one by one and asked her to leave out a certain vegetable.  At the end they all sat down to eat and found a big steaming bowl of hot water. 

This blog feels a bit like Mexicali soup to me right now.  I know the Orlando stuff only appeals to a certain audience.  Same with the political posts, and those tend to piss people off too.  I can’t blog about celebrities as well as some of my other blogmates can, and my personal posts seem a little too self-important, even though I try to keep it as light as possible.

So, I’m taking a break.  As much as I like to say I only write for myself, I always seem to have my readers in the back of my mind and I just don’t feel like I can perform anymore.  Also, for reasons that I’m not sure I can articulate, I’m beginning to feel like my internet presence should be a little more anonymous.  I’ll still be around, mostly just commenting on other blogs.  I’ll be concentrating on writing my cheesy romance novel for NaNoWriMo in November.

There is every possibility that I’ll get over it in a couple of days, so don’t be surprised if I print a retraction shortly.  I’m also fooling around with the idea of making this a fansite, if I do that it’ll most likely be in December or later.  (You fangirls can give me a little feedback on that if you so desire.)

Speaking of fangirls, I want you guys to know that I was planning on going out with a bang.  Remember when I told you that the dingo had a published phone number?  Well, I was all set to finally suck it up and give her (or more pointedly, Orlando) a phone call.  Guess what?  The number isn’t listed anymore.  Too bad I didn’t write it down when I had the chance.  Anyway, who says she doesn’t troll the boards reading about herself, right?  Maybe she’ll read this and tell him to call me after all.  Not.

Well, enjoy your hot water.  While I’m gone you can visit this excellent blog that I stumbled upon:

High School Hollywood

Wanda

30 Comments

  1. Do what you need to do. The next step will reveal itself at some point.

    Nanowrimo can be a lot of fun. Concentrate on that for a while!

  2. I get it. Lately unless I get a bee in my bonnet I would rather read than write too.

  3. I know where you’re coming from. You go on and do your thing.

  4. MORE anonymous???

  5. {{{Sissy}}} Life is what happens while you’re making other plans, shug. 🙂 Holla atcha girl. . .

  6. Wanda: I will miss thee. I want to see the term throbbing manhood in the cheesy romance novel.

  7. I’ll look for you all over the place. Hither and yon and high and low. I’m sure I’ll run into you.

    I’m feeling quite museless myself these days.

  8. I’m sorry you’re feeling down. Take of yourself and don’t become a stranger. I always thought you were a brilliant writer so I’m sure your novel will be a success. 🙂

    Dingho: I know you read all of our blogs so go to mine and explain to me why you let them airbrush your phace into looking like a possessed Bratz Doll. Not a good look!

  9. I will miss you much Wanda! I remember the day clicking into your link for the first time, reading and laughing hysterically! I had to run all over the place and say “read here read here! Shes brilliant!”. You really are. I know exactly what you are feeling of wanting and needing a break….I think alot of folks feel that. Some shits so all broke up dat der aint no fixin it!

    Please come back soon…..you are female so its expected of you to change your mind frequently! *psmmt* (that was a kiss!)

  10. Sniff, sniff, wahhhhhhhhh! Wanda, I miss you already.

    It was real and it was fun and it was really fun. Especially all those adventures with the Whorely and his Gunnedah Hobag.

    Good times, those.

    Now go make me some pear brandy (please).

    I voted for you for best blog, ya know, and not just cuz you told me to.

    SadieJo

  11. I understand Wanda. You do what you need to do and take as long as you need to do it. Just take care of yourself.

    You’re a brilliant writer and a brilliant person. You’re also a brilliant friend.

    Oh, and I can’t wait to read that Mills and Boon romance novel of yours! It had better be a bodice ripper with lots of heaving chests and naked bodies lightly sprinkled with perspiration. You could probably throw in a throbbing manhood for Stevo too. I know that’d please him.

    Luv ya babe! 🙂

  12. I promise there will be plenty of throbbing manhood for everyone. Especially Stevo.

    Thanks for your kind words guys. I’ll most likely be back at some point, I just need a teeny break to get my mojo back.

  13. I’ll catch you later… Wherever you are.

  14. I can’t believe you’re not gonna blog anymore, Wanda, but whatever you decide to do, I hope you have a blast with it. I’ll be keeping an eye out for that novel, too.

    Cheers, dearie! I’ll see ya around.

  15. Dang – late to the party again!

    Bye bye Wanda and hope to see you around.

  16. CAIT!!! Where the crap have you been girl?

    Hi Sighs4l! You may not see me but I see you when I lurk at you know where.

  17. I love you, Wanda. If you need any help adjusting to a more rural existence you know how to find me.

    Get real snow tires. Now.

    • Anners Scribonia Caesar
    • Posted October 16, 2008 at 1:54 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Nooooooo!!!!!!!

    Just no!

    Bloody hell, this has been the worst week in the history of my world… and now this. (!!!!!!!!!!!)

    ha.

    I can’t wait to read your romance novel, by the way. I know it’s going to be both beautiful and hilarious, just like your blog.

    Love ya, Wanders.

    😦

  18. Quill!!!

    Well damn Anners! It’ll be OK, I’m still around. See? I’m typing right now.

  19. Hey Wanda,
    I guess the saying is true; all good things must come to an end… thanks for the many giggles. Please visit Canada soo. We have many a outdoorsy adventuristic park to see, stay awile cause you just might like it, eh!
    All the best,
    Tallulah

  20. “soo” was suppose to be soon, argh! My typing abilities are terrible.

    • Janers@hotmail.com
    • Posted October 16, 2008 at 7:11 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Personal posts are the best ones. I like hearing about your family and life.

    Have a good break.

  21. I miss your writing so much but I understand that you have other commitments. *smooch*

  22. Wanda, I completely understand; guess I’m the lucky one because we have other ways to keep in touch!

    Some of us have been not-writing for a long time and haven’t been missed. The stir your created here is a measure of your success, too. You’ll be back to write, somewhere, when you know what you want to say again.

  23. Blog ennui seems to be catching lately. I’m feeling it too. Best of luck…see ya someday somewhere.

  24. Im sorry I dont post more, here. I feel rude for not doing so more and now you are taking a break from your blog, I feel like a b!tch for not talking out more, I ten to lurk around and read what others have to say becuase im not that funny, anyways I enjoy your posts and when you do post back agin I wil try to be the first one to answer back. Gee I need to lay off Delphi more and post around at some other blogs more often. At least Mayfrayn hasnt effected your blog yet, (hopefully not), lol.

  25. I feel ya Wanders. Blogging is hard work. 🙂

    Thank gawd Akeelers picks up my slack 😉

    I have the utmost respect for you both as a writer and as a bloggy mate 😀

    Also, I too hope to see the term “throbbing manhood” in your novel! hee

  26. Oh no! Looks like I’m a week late in receiving the news.

    Wanda, you will certainly be missed. I know though that this is only an ellipsis in the Wanda/Orlando saga.

  27. I’m glad you’re still visiting us on da blogs 🙂

  28. you can’t leave.
    i like you.
    what the friggity!


Leave a Reply

