Skip navigation

My excellent friend Anners recently did a “shag or gag” post about Jason London, who starred in the Best Movie Ever, Dazed And Confused.

Have I ever told you how much I love that movie?  For one thing, I might be one of the few people in the world who actually has good memories of the 70’s.  Or any memories of the 70’s for that matter, although most of my memories of the summer of 76 involve Highlights magazine.  Besides, what can be better than being a teenager when it’s the last day of school?  Nothing, that’s what.

I saw this movie 4 or 5 times in the theater and countless times on video and cable.  It was years before I realized that Wooderson was Matthew McCanaughey, and years after that before I realized that O’Banion was Ben Affleck.  Oh well.

Here’s the trailer.  If you haven’t seen this movie stop what you’re doing and go see it.  Now.

 

8 Comments

  1. “Check ya later!”

  2. Yup. I lived that movie.

    Actually, I lived “That ’70s Show” too. I remember some of it. Well… I think I do. I certainly remember the yellow and orange wallpaper in my cousin’s apartment dancing. Heh heh…

  3. You and your sordid past Pan.

    Check ya later!

    • Anners Scribonia Caesar
    • Posted September 18, 2008 at 11:15 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I used to read highlights magazine, it was an awesome publictaion.

    Seriously, I’ve seen D&C about 20 times. It’s up there with Double Indemnity.

    Jason London c.2003 was the hotness. I like pretty boys and I am ashamed of myself.

    • Anners Scribonia Caesar
    • Posted September 18, 2008 at 11:15 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I’m obviously smoking something. I meant c.1993. Jason London c.2003 is most certainly NOT the hotness.

  4. Hey, did you see the episode of Criminal Minds he was on? He was a rapist. Hee. Or maybe it was his brother.

  5. I love, love, love this movie.

    L-I-V-I-N.

    Jason London was kind of hot, but what really surprised me was how good Ben Affleck was before he grew up to be Ben Affleck. And Slater ended up on CSI: Miami, until he was killed off and I no longer had an excuse to watch it.

    TRUE STORY: If you watch this movie stoned, things happen in it that you’ll never see if you watch it straight. Lines of dialogue. Extended scenes. I’m not kidding, it’s like having the director’s cut inside your own head if you watch it while smoking.

  6. Slater is the man! He is one of my pretend boyfriends. Yes, I really am a 13 year-old-girl.
    I too watched CSI:Miami, but only now and then just to check him out. Now I don’t even bother tuning in 😦


Leave a Reply

