Skip navigation

I guess I left for a few days again and didn’t tell anyone.

I don’t have a whole lot to report, except to say that I don’t understand McCain’s choice of running-mate, Sarah Palin.  I don’t get it.  Are women supposed to flock to her because she’s some kind of replacement Hillary Clinton?  Do they think we’re that stupid?  Never mind, don’t answer that.I’m going to do my civic duty and give you the facts about Governorn Palin.  I’m not going to discuss the unsubstantiated rumors about her son really being her grandson.  (You can read about it here though.)

  • She was elected Alaska’s governor a little over a year and a half ago. Her previous office was mayor of Wasilla, a small town outside Anchorage. She has no foreign policy experience.
  • Palin is strongly anti-choice, opposing abortion even in the case of rape or incest.
  • She supported right-wing extremist Pat Buchanan for president in 2000.
  • Palin thinks creationism should be taught in public schools.
  • She’s doesn’t think humans are the cause of climate change.
  • She’s solidly in line with John McCain’s “Big Oil first” energy policy. She’s pushed hard for more oil drilling and says renewables won’t be ready for years. She also sued the Bush administration for listing polar bears as an endangered species—she was worried it would interfere with more oil drilling in Alaska.
  • How closely did John McCain vet this choice? He met Sarah Palin once at a meeting. They spoke a second time, last Sunday, when he called her about being vice-president. Then he offered her the position.

 

Um, OK.  I don’t get it.

17 Comments

  1. She’s McCain with a va-jay-jay.
    That is all.

  2. It’s an interesting choice, all right. But they have been grooming her since last year. Talk about a surprise!

  3. I have issues with her judgment. Anybody stupid enough run with John McCain ought to have their judgement called into play.

  4. I have a theory.

    He had someone else picked out and then saw Hillary Clinton’s speech and went, “Oh, f…” and panicked. He couldn’t get any of the Republican women senators to come on board because they’re not nuts enough for the base, and then he remembered Palin, which explains the shoddy vetting process: he only had three days for it.

    And now her abstinence-only-educated teenager is knocked up and having a shotgun wedding at 17.

  5. I think his choice was insulting to women everywhere. It was just a blatant attempt to get the women’s vote. Any woman will do in a storm!

    I think he shot himself in the foot.

    I guess her strict morals on sex didn’t rub off on her daughter.

  6. I guess not. And I guess the dems have to treat this as a “private family matter” but the pro-lifers can talk about it til the cows come home.

    Hi mom!

  7. Hey, you have a vagina. You’re supposed to be kinda dumb. ACT DUMB! Geez.

  8. I’d like to see how quiet the media would have been if Chelsea Clinton had been pregnant while HER dad was in office.

  9. Tigereye, your theory intrigues me and I’d like to subscribe to your newsletter.

  10. Is she really a woman? Has there been a physical exam or DNA test. Everyone knows Republicans are sexually twisted. Perhaps McCain has his own personal Lady Boy as a running mate.

  11. Well, I’ll be the lone conservative voice and risk complete execration to say that I like Sarah Palin, and she’s got my support. I don’t like every single thing I’ve read about her, but I like what I’ve read about her scads better than what I’ve read about any other candidate. As an educated and not in any way sexually twisted woman, I’m not insulted at all.

  12. By the way, Palin supported Steve Forbes in 2000, not Buchanan. She thinks creationism should be taught alongside evolution as an alternative and not as the only option. She’s also a member of Feminists for Life, a group of women who are opposed to abortion, not to feminism or to women’s rights.

  13. Conservative? Get off my blog!

    I’m just kidding Caniad. I don’t mind people who disagree if you don’t. And you’re not the only conservative in our little group. Have you met Shawn?

    http://texasshawn.wordpress.com/

    Sometimes she signs in as “The Elephant In The Room”.

  14. Thanks for the link, Wanda. I certainly don’t mind that people have different opinions, and I always welcome the perspective. Based on the link, I’m guessing that Shawn is from Texas? Same here. I don’t live there now, but it will always be home.

  15. Where in Texas?

    I gotta say, I disagree with the idea of Palin being a feminist. There’s an interesting discussion about that on Jezebel:

    http://jezebel.com/5044896/sarah-palin-feminist-victim-of-sexist-smears-or-all-or-none-of-the-above

  16. Corpus Christi. My parents moved away from there a couple of years ago, so I haven’t been back to CC in ages. Honestly, it’s no great loss, but I’m still proud to be a GRIT (girl raised in Texas)!

    Thanks for the info about Palin and feminism. They offer a very interesting point of view. I consider myself to be a feminist (in terms of women’s rights/equality), but I’m opposed to abortion. As far as I see it, we already have so many rights — right to have sex, right to use birth control — but for me life is something different. That’s the Christian (and closet Catholic) in me talking, though.


Leave a Reply

