Skip navigation

Did you hear what Toby Keith said about Barack Obama?

“I think the black people would say he [Obama] don’t talk, act or carry himself as a black person.”

He said this too:

“…I think that that’s what they would say. Even though the black society would pull for him I still think that they think in the back of their mind that the only reason he is in [the general election] is because he talks, acts and carries himself as a Caucasian.”

Toby Keith knows all about black people, and a lot of other stuff too.  You can bask in his wisdom by clicking here.

You guys know Toby Keith, don’t you?  He’s the guy that wrote the song that went a little something like this:

“Grandpappy told my pappy back in my day, son
A man had to answer for the wicked that he’d done
Take all the rope in Texas
Find a tall oak tree, round up all of them bad boys
Hang them high in the street
For all the people to see.”

Yeah.  I wonder who he was talking about when he said “bad boys”?  Do bad boys talk like white people?  I mean, if they try to blend in, shouldn’t they get some kind of anti-lynching credit?  Like a free pass or something?  Just asking.

Sorry, but as as someone who’s been told that she talks, acts and carries herself as a Causcasian her whole life, this subject is a little touchy.  Except that my parents talk like I do, and so does everyone in my family, and they’re all black.  My Grandpappy did too, only while Toby Keith’s Grandpappy was out lynching bad boys my Grandpappy was getting a degree in engineering.  Even though he’s black.  So maybe I don’t really talk like a white person at all.  Maybe I just talk like other educated black people.

Besides, I don’t really talk like white people at all.  Not like Toby Keith anyway.  But I’m sure he totally meant to say “he [Obama] doesn’t talk, act or carry himself as a black person.”

Seriously though, why is Glenn Beck asking Toby Keith about politics?  Isn’t that kinda like asking Tom Cruise’s opinion about depression?  Or asking Jennie McCarthy what she thinks about vaccination and the root causes of autism?  Am I the only one who thinks that they should stop encouraging these people?

So the moral of the story is, offensive racial stereotypes are stupid and hurtful.  l don’t think Toby Keith would like it very much if I made a joke about Cletus the Slack-Jawed Yokel, do you?

Oh, fuck it.

24 Comments

  1. Yeah, ’cause when I want to know what all black people all over the world think about something, I immediately think, “Hey, I’ll go see what Toby Keith has to say!”

    I’m totally with the Dixie Chicks on Toby Keith. I bet he still calls people like me pinko commie feminazis. Which I probably am.

    You know what I do like about the motherfucker, though? He makes me feel a damn sight better about having a Kid Rock CD in my house. Next to Toby Keith, Kid Rock comes across like the new Gregory Peck.

  2. The only reason I read your blog is because you write like a white person.

  3. And Kris can dunk a rock at a run from the stripe.

  4. *takes her cowboy hat and slinks away*

  5. Hey, I like a lot of country music. Hell, I like Hank Williams Jr., who is… let’s see… he’s JFK next to this schmuck.

    Giving a bad name to crackers everywhere. Sheesh.

  6. I’d say that Toby Keith is from the shallow end of the gene pool, but let’s be honest here, there is no deep end to THAT gene pool.

    On a completely serious note, please Wanda, don’t judge all white people by Toby Keith standards. We’re not all backwoods yokels with IQ’s just north of a bedroom slipper.

    (On a related note, is anyone else completely taken aback by the fact that Toby Keith can pronounce the word “Caucasian”? I always thought people in the country music biz had to stick with words under three syllables…)

  7. I be put a boot in his ass. How bout dat?

    BTW: “The Black Society” ?! Hee! He’s so stoopit.

  8. I’m amazed that (some)people are still mystified by African-Americans who don’t sound like runaway slaves when talking. And I’m still trying to figure out what “acting Caucasian” means. Is that supposed to be synonymous with “educated”? Hit me back, Toby.

  9. It was really weird seeing Toby Keith on Colbert. I didn’t know he was actually making the political circuit.

  10. I just figured something out. Another reason I despise Toby Keith is, and I wish I was making this up, he talks exactly like my least favorite relative.

    Gotta go have several drinks now.

  11. Hmm. Being from the south, and a rural area, my un-college educated self sometimes talks just like that.

    I really will try and do better.
    Stereotypes are a funny thing, and racial humour isn’t funny no matter who does it.
    ‘course I am just a slack-jawed yokel.

  12. pinko commie feminazis made me laugh til I cried, tigereye.

    And what exactly was Toby Keith doing on Colbert? That’s not what I want to see on my ritual Daily Show/Colbert watchings. It frightens and confuses me when things like that happen.

    Also, most of my relatives talk like this. It’s my secret shame

  13. He’s a fecking moron! A lot of twits in the Air Force and Army love his shit! I cannot stand him. I hope he falls in wet cement.

  14. Those “twits in the Air Force and Army” are protecting the sorry asses of people who dont have anything better to do than bitch about what a crappy country it is.
    They Like Toby Keith because he supports them. I dont advocate war, but I’m sure as hell not going to disrespect the people that fight for my freedom and protection.

  15. He JoJO I was in the Air Force for 10 years. My husband has been in the Army for 11! Thanks for your support 🙂

  16. I meant “hey” JoJo. Sorry for the typo. Also, I wasn’t disrespecting them – just the fools who are fans of TK. Believe me there are plenty of twits in the armed forces. Just like in the civilian world.

  17. I hate to mention this Wanda, but that butt up there looks like a white person’s butt, which is the only reason why I read this blog.

    Not really. But I wanted to stir the pot.

    🙂

  18. So, some people will always be twits no matter where you go. I guess we can all agree on that!

    Wanda, I’m making a new blog site and just realized that I’m using the same theme as yours. I thought it looked familiar.

  19. You most certainly are not a slack-jawed yokel JoJo.

  20. Toby Keith, if you are reading this, you’re an idiot.

    That is all.

  21. This really pisses me off. It’s like when Jay-Z (I think it was him) said Oprah had turned into a white women.

    WTF? What can be more racist than assuming people have to fit a certain stereotype in order to ‘qualify’ for a certain race?

    Who the hell starts a sentence with “I think Black people would say”? If you’re interested in what they have to say go and ask them before making assumptions.

    and tell him to use ‘speak’ – talk sounds off in that sentence.

    • Anners Scribonia Ceasar
    • Posted August 9, 2008 at 4:32 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Lectures are always phun.

    • Anners Scribonia Caesar
    • Posted August 9, 2008 at 4:34 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    O snap! I spelled my own name wrong! Hee.

    Fiat lux.

  22. So if you don’t shuck and jive and say the “n” word you aren’t black??? This is the stupidest crap ever. I already disliked Toby immensly, but now I do even more. Is it funny that Toby was a common slave name?


Leave a Reply

