Skip navigation

I watched A Cry In The Dark today.  OK, not the whole thing.  I just wanted to see the part when Meryl Streep said “a dingo took my baby!”  I’ve never seen the movie before.

This reminded me of Joders, who said that she could never wear a t-shirt that said “A Dingo Took My Baby” because she lives in Australia and she’d be tarred and feathered.  I don’t really understand why that is.  Maybe I should watch the rest of the movie.

After the movie the Rizzutos went to the Staten Island Zoo.  Dante’s birthday was this week and he said he wanted to go there.  This also reminded me of Joders because we passed by Staten Island Chuck’s house.  Staten Island Chuck is the groundhog that they drag out every Groundhog Day, except that he doesn’t get as much press as Punxutawney Phil. 

SI Chuck 

Anyway, it reminded me of Joders because she and I once had a discussion about Groundhog Day and I was embarrassed that she knew Chuck’s name and I didn’t, seeing as how she lived in Australia and I live right down the street from him and everything.  At least I think that was Joders.  Maybe it was Janers.  I don’t know, memory is the first thing to go.

You thought this post was going to be about Miranda Kerr, didn’t you?

OK.

Speaking of zoos, dingos and Australia, I was looking at some of our old videos of when Dante was a tot.  There was one of us at the Cohanzick Zoo in New Jersey.  Do you know what they have at the Cohanzick Zoo that I totally forgot about?  A singing dingo.  No, really.  Just wait till I get that video digitized.  Look for a post called “Miranda Kerr’s New Career.”

And speaking of Miranda Kerr and Australia, look what Mr. Rizzuto found at the liquor store:

Jealous bitch

It’s Australian. Mr. Rizzuto said that the dog on the red wine looked more like a dingo, and if he had thought about the dingo joke he’d have gotten that one instead. Oh well.

We’re going out for ice cream now. Well, they’re going to eat ice cream, I’m going to watch. Laters.

12 Comments

  1. I think Joders believes that she’d be tarred and feathered for wearing a DTMB t-shirt because it’s a true story and she would be perceived as wildly insensitive or something.

    Dingo wine FTW!!

  2. I can’t really believe that it’s been 28 years since the disappearance of Azaria Chamberlain.

    A dingo took my baby is funny in the dingo / Orlando context but no so funny when you’re reminded that these are the words uttered by Lindy Chamberlain in the early hours of the morning as she ran screaming from the family campsite when her 9 week old baby disappeared.

    And then there’s the fact that Lindy was found guilty of killing her own child and went to gaol for it. She was later acquitted of course, but it’s still not really funny.

    And it’s not so funny that some of the family live about an hour away from me.

    Aussie’s can pretty much rip themselves and others off for just about anything, but this one is still a little too close to home (pardon the pun). Which is a shame because I’d love a DTMB t-shirt!

    But you know what? If the DTMB t-shirt had something about Miranda on it, I’d probably get more shit about that than about the whole Lindy Chamberlain thing.

    It was me you had the conversation with about the groundhogs Wanda!

    And that chardonnay? Priceless!! That made me laugh out loud. You’ve made my day Wanda! Thank you. I wonder is there any Jealous Bitch Chardonnay at my local bottle shop?

    PS I’m sorry this comment is sooo long. I’ll try to be slightly less verbose next time.

  3. I, on the other hand, could never drink wine with an angry dog on it. . . Isn’t it funny how after a while on the net, stuff you see reminds you of people you’ve never seen?

  4. I tried to find the Jealous Bitch vineyard Joders, but all I could find out is that it’s in southeastern Australia.

    And I guess I really should watch the rest of the movie. But I don’t get it…did she do it or didn’t she?

  5. Damn. I want a bottle of that wine, if only to put on my desk. (I don’t normally touch the white stuff.)I thought it was only trendy Californians that thought up clever names, like Cardinal Zin and Fat Bastard.

  6. The Lindy Chamberlain story is a interesting yet sad one. I understand that the compensation paid by the government for her wrongful conviction was not enough to pay her legal bills.

    I hope you enjoyed the ice cream.

  7. Wanda I needed some time to contemplate your question. Did she do it or not? My answer is, I can’t answer that question. Legally speaking she didn’t do it – the courts overturned her conviction. The Australian public was divided in it’s belief as to her guilt (or otherwise). There is evidence to support both sides of the argument. I don’t have a feeling about it one way or the other. I think it might be one of those stories that end with a deathbed statement.

  8. Unfortunately, that’s one of our favorite movie quotes. Either one of us is likely to yell it out for just about any reason. We’re insensitive idiots around here.

  9. I guess you’re in good company Ina, since it was also a joke on Seinfeld and The Simpsons.

  10. Wine snob checking in here… I think Fat Bastard is an Australian wine, but I could be wrong. I had a pretty good Shiraz from them.

    I have seriously considered running away to Australia these past 10 years… I’d have to go by my middle name, though. 🙂

  11. I’ve got some Mad Housewife chardonnay that I’m taking to a friend’s house after a certain road trip later this week… But I’m also bringing Corona in case Mad Housewife sucks.

    Someone remind me to bring limes?

  12. I don’t think she did it Wanda. I think she was condemmed by the country coz she was a bit of an oddball.`At the time they didn’t really believe dingos went for kids (they do).


Leave a Reply

