Skip navigation

So, I was supposed to close on my house today.  It didn’t happen because my mortgage broker is a dumbass.  So are the people we’re buying the house from.

The sellers are broke.  I’m not sure if they started out that way, but they are now.  They had to have the septic tank inspected and that ended up costing them $7000.  They’re kind of upset about that, but I think they should look on the bright side, right?  I mean, at least it wasn’t me.

At first they wanted us to buy their swing set for $1500.  We politely declined, because if I was going to spend $1500 it sure as gd hell wouldn’t be on a swingset.  So now they’re trying to extort and extra $1000 out of us.  We told them to stuff it.  I’m still tight though.

Ali-ers tagged me.  Again.  I’m supposed to write 7 songs that I’ve been playing a lot lately.  The truth is that I’m pretty sick of everything on my MP3 player these days, and my USB is packed away somewhere so I can’t really download anything at the moment.  But here’s some stuff that I like anyway.  Don’t laugh:

Kiss – Forever

Amy Winehouse – He Can Only Hold Her

America – Tin Man

Stevie Wonder – Superwoman

Stevie Wonder – My Cherie Amor

Doobie Brothers – South City Midnight Lady

Crowded House – Don’t Dream It’s Over

Really, don’t laugh.

I posted some pictures of my beasts, who are cleverly disguised as sweet children.  E-mail me if you want the password.

17 Comments

  1. Don’t mess with a white woman’s money, either.

    A car dealer once tried to extract another $1,000 out of us for a truck bedliner that was already installed. I said, fuck you, spend a couple hundred dollars in labor to uninstall it. It’s not an option I want, and I’m sure as hell not paying for it.

    Turns out they didn’t want to spend the money to have it uninstalled, so… free bedliner for us. I suspect this is what will happen with your swingset situation.

  2. Wanda – thanks for playing along! I really like that Crowded House song too.

    Can I see your kids’ pics? I promise I won’t tag you anymore. Well at least for a little while 🙂

  3. Kiss? Really?

    The America song is nice.

  4. I’d like the password but I don’t have your email.

    Is it Orlando?

  5. The Doobie brothers! They were on “What’s Happenin’!”

  6. Which Doobie Yoobie!

  7. Which Doobie Youbie? Way to reference Sanford and Son on me.

    I’m glad I read your headline. I was going to go out and mess with a black woman’s money later today, but now I’m thinking twice about it.

  8. Slap a “You” in front of it and replace “A” with “The” and your header could be the title of a new Wanda Sykes movie.

    • Daners Isadora a.k.a. Busty St. Clair
    • Posted July 1, 2008 at 10:49 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    People suck.

    I will be singing My Cheri Amore for the next hour or so. Thank you

  9. It’s WHAT’S HAPPENING Johnno. Sheesh, didn’t you read Anners’ comment? I’m disgusted with you confusing those two shows, however excellent they may be.

  10. Oh my God, I’m embarrassed to be hooked up to a man who can’t remember which one is Sanford & Son and which one is What’s Happening. I guess I’ll also have to tell him the one Janet Jackson used to turn up on was Diff’rent Strokes.

    South City Midnight Lady is one of my favorite songs ever.

    Let those fools whine about the swing set a while longer and find out what happens when they can’t sell their house. Morons.

  11. My favorite house selling story is when we were selling our house and the people wanted a grand to redecorate the guest bathroom–which we’d just finished redoing!

  12. So? You get the house or what? Got a swingset, too?

  13. Please email me the password. I can’t wait to see what it is…

  14. Janet Jackson showed up on Good Times. This is a wacky thread.

  15. I didn’t laugh at your list but I smiled a little.

  16. It hate is when people try and wrangle money out of u.

    I’m very sensible with my money too – thank god some of us women are.


Leave a Reply

