Skip navigation

Still mad about Hillary losing?  Thinking about tossing the election to McCain?  Before you do, take a look at where he stands on women’s issues:

  • Opposed spending to prevent teen pregnancy
  • Supports abstinence-only sex education in schools
  • Not crazy about any other kind of sex-ed
  • Ambivalent about government funding for contraception
  • Wants to overturn Roe v. Wade
  • Proud pro-lifer

You can read about all this and more here.

If you agree with McCain on any of these issues then by all means vote for him.  Just please don’t tell me you’re voting for him because you’re angry about sexism within the Democratic party.  Please.

You should also read this.

 

24 Comments

    • Daners Isadora a.k.a. Busty St. Clair
    • Posted June 11, 2008 at 9:45 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I don’t want to read more about it. It will make me angry. And nobody would like it when I’m angry.

    Roe vs. Wade?! Really McCain?! So the women can go back to dangerous, back alley abortions. I’ve read some of the horror story on those, have you, John? Here, read some of the comments here:

    http://jezebel.com/383063/#viewcomments

    Oh,. but if we only preach abstinence, the teenagers will listen and never have sex, ever, because it is evil, so there is no need for abortion, right?

    Right?

    • Daners Isadora a.k.a. Busty St. Clair
    • Posted June 11, 2008 at 9:48 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Okay, I went and glanced at both sites. SD was going to have an abortion ban? Where was I? And why?

    And to the Hil voters who have decided to vote for McCain now. Isn’t that like cutting off your nose just to spite your face?

  1. Now I’m all riled up!
    Please tell me that there aren’t people who are *seriously* considering throwing the election to McCain?
    Reading about wanting to overturn Roe v. Wade and all of McCain’s re-re views makes me so mad I feel like running out to get an abortion and I’m not pregnant!

  2. I’m thinking the flight to McCain stems not from feminist issues but from “black man” issues… sorry. Racism rears its pretty head.

    By the way, John McCain’s wife looks like a rotting barbie doll. Yes.

  3. You’re probably right Anners.

    Ali, there are Hillary supporters that are so mad that she lost the primary (which she lost because Obama and the media are sexist) that they’re either going to vote for McCain, vote independent or stay home, which is just as good as voting for McCain.

  4. That’s so fecking retarded! I hate people sometimes!

    I need some herbal tea to calm me down.

  5. I’m annoyed and dejected about both of the “candidates.” Each has flaws. Where’s our JFK? This generation (and the one after, and the one after that one) hasn’t had a hero in years.

  6. I think it’s time for an age limit on the presidency. Instituting candidates having a basic level of commonsense as a prerequisite will never work.

  7. I don’t expect any President to be our hero who saves us (Messiah complex, anyone?). If we are really going to change things in this country, WE have to be willing to change. Good leadership may help — but it’s the PEOPLE who have got to change.

    That said, there is a good bit at stake in this election, like the supreme court, civil rights, the threat of war, etc.

  8. I see you have a McCain ad again. 🙂

  9. I’m with Kathleen on this. We do need to change. Sometimes a good leader can be the catalyst for inspiring such an event, though.

    Actually, now that I think about people are kinda over-worked and tired… I want a Messiah. Noam Chomsky will back me up on this.

  10. But Kathleen, did you see my tagline up yonder?

  11. Yes, my dear — I just hadn’t seen the ad recently, so for me, it was “back”.

  12. Anners, actually, over-worked and tired IS part of the problem. People don’t have the time or energy to enact change.

  13. Let’s not forget Old Man Yells At Cloud (the only Simpsons reference that’s ever stuck with me) also recently voted against a bill to ensure that women would earn the same wages as men. He said it was an issue of EDUCATION AND TRAINING.

    Any Clinton supporter who would vote for McCain didn’t share any of Hillary’s views in the first place, and clearly didn’t hear her speech supporting Obama, which was amazing and worth every YouTube minute to hear.

    Finally, we should all go easy on Cindy McCain. She’s fallen on hard times. I haven’t seen her get a single movie role since she played that Nazi chick in “Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade.” 🙂

  14. I think the anger wil leventually subside…people will realize obama stands for woman’s issues just like hllary

  15. * It totally is part of the problem, Kathleen.

    * Tigereye must stop making me laugh. Hahaha, the nazi chick in Indiana Jones…

  16. I just can’t imagine a disappointed Hillary supporter voting for that sexist redneck homophobic old bastard, but hey, what do I know?

  17. You’d think I’d be all for them throwing the election to McCain, but it’s stupid to waste your vote out of spite.

  18. I am more sympathetic to the anger that Hillary backers are feeling, even if I never was on the team. I can accept that the patterns are there to suggest that this world is not yet clear of sexism and misogyny. I have a hard time accepting Senator Clinton as being more than a mainstream Democrat with the voting record to prove it. Again, nothing wrong with that either. But I am not prepared to see the country go down the toilet over that anger. It seems misplaced.

    The world has moved in many ugly ways since I was cheering the bum rush that Nixon got from office. Allowing the people behind McCain, if not McCain himself, to continue to wield power out of spite seems close to insane. I already have given up seeing things put right in my lifetime. I am now working on expectations that it might be better before my children are old. Maybe.

  19. Jumped over here from my son’s blog. Am VERY glad to see the younger generation taking an interest in their future. As for Clinton backers going to McCain—that is all TV. They need something to keep people listening, so they “invent” this anger about Clinton losing. I agree with “Tigereye”. Any Clinton supporter who backs McCain, didn’t support Clinton, they just support a white woman. Your generation must take the reigns and clean up the mess of the last almost 8 years. It is important for you and for your children. P.S. The tax cut that Obama talked about was to let the tax cut for the 1 percent of the rich not be renewed. It is estimated that we lost $6 Billion tax dollars by not taxing any income above $380,000.00 per anum. That would be the top 1 per cent of our citizens. If the average citizen is taxed on all her/his income, then so should anyone making more than $380,000.00. Enough said. Keep questioning your government. We are all depending on you.

  20. Hiya Goodfoot!

    Thanks for stopping by Alan’s Mom. I think you’re right, the Clinton backers voting for McCain are probably just republicans trying to cause trouble. We’ll see come November.

    Do I know your son?

  21. You know, they’re probably the same people who were the “Nader Traders” in 2000. Remember them? There was a “movement” online for people in states that were irreversibly red or blue to vote for Nader if you’d vote for their candidate in a swing state? Turns out to have been a bunch of Republican thuglings having fun online, probably after a day of walking through poor neighborhoods putting up signs that said “VOTE THIS WEDNESDAY.”

  22. I CANNOT stand people who are anti-abortion and againt contraception.

    abstinence doesn’t work u retards, we are animals with reproductive needs – what about married couples, do u think they want 30 kids? so are they expected to have sex twice in their lives or something.

    This is ridiculous – Hilary wouldn’t want a friggin republican in the whitehouse. I think Anners is right. Racism has entered the room.


Leave a Reply

