Skip navigation

My bud Anners loves this band called Interpol.  I used to feel all old and crappy because I didn’t know who they were, but then I found out that no one knew who they were except Anners and about 6 other people who visit her blog.  Actually, it’s probably a few more than that because I’ve had a few people find my blog by typing things like “Interpol” and “Paul Banks tattoo.”

Anyhoo, I was driving to Waldbaum’s earlier today and I was listening to this new radio station.  I like it because they play a lot of old fogey music that I can listen to like Thin Lizzy, and they also play some other stuff that I find frightening and confusing.  All of a sudden the DJ started going on about Interpol and how great they were.  Apparently they played Radio City last year and I missed the whole thing.  Then he played a song.  I found out later that it was called “Evil.”  I don’t remember much about it except that it made me want to kill myself.  I didn’t.  But then I looked up the video on YouTube and it made me want to kill myself all over again. 

And people used to get on my case when I was a kid for listening to Judas Priest.  Sheesh.

Here’s the video, judge for yourself.  I tried Anners.  If it makes you feel any better I almost drove off the road when I heard him say Interpol.  I’m sorry I thought it was all a figment of your imagination.

10 Comments

  1. eh, I’d rather listen to Thin Lizzy-o. . . but it’s good to check out new music, Sissy. Once in a while you find some deeply awesome stuff, and I’m firmly convinced that, whatever Dave Barry says about how we will always be cool, getting into the odd new group can help keep you young 😉 . On the whole Evil thing, you should look for Jill Tracy and listen to her “Evil Night Together”. Wheeee . . .

  2. I love Interpol! I’d heard about them, and then “Slow Hands” started receiving airplay, and I was hooked.

  3. Wanda, Wanda, Wanda.

    I’m going to have to put together a special post just for you regarding this band and what songs are the best gateway to the splendidness that is Interpol.

    Haha @ the Paul Banks loonies findng your blog…

  4. Eesh. I watched. I don’t “get it” — the puppet was creepy and I think it didn’t end well for everybody. He’s saying their relationship is a car wreck? At least it’s a familiar concept. But, I feel all knowledgeable for when the kids mention this band, if they ever do.

  5. Jackie, have you met Anners?

  6. Wanda – LOL about how you wanted to kill yourself after you heard this song in your car. But didn’t. Then you saw the video and wanted to again. hahahhaha.

    I agree the puppet is creepy.

    • Bunny Dixonjugs Is Daners' Bond Girl Name
    • Posted May 27, 2008 at 1:38 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I’m going to have to agree with Wanda on this one.

    Thank you for the puppet. It shall haunt my dreams

  7. like some vids, i think this is not “about” the song’s meaning (though Interpol like writing ambiguous tunes). i’ve always thought “Evil” was about that Rosemary & Ian ? moor murderers – y’know, the glamourous blonde Rosemary from the 50s/60s? have another listen to the lyrics, see what you think.

  8. Eh. If you’re old-school like me, and you must be if you’re into Thin Lizzy, check out Danielia Cotton, who’s AWESOME. Oh, and lfc’s right — Jill Tracy is cool, too.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Pages tagged "interpol" on 27 May 2008 at 7:18 am

    […] tagged interpolOwn a WordPress blog? Make monetization easier with the WP Affiliate Pro plugin. I Heard Interpol On The Radio Today! saved by 8 others     Kronicng112007 bookmarked on 05/27/08 | […]

Leave a Reply

