Skip navigation

I read this very interesting article on CNN today about catcalling.  (I read about it on this awesome blog, which you should definitely check out.)

Anyway, would you believe that in this day and age there are still men (and women) out there that think women who wear miniskirts are “asking for it”?  Don’t take my word for it, have a look at some of the comments on the CNN article. 

In case you didn’t know, women don’t like it when a gang of men scream vulagrities at them on a public street.  It isn’t flattering, empowering or complimentary.  What it is is degrading and humiliating, especially if the woman happens to be, in reality, a teenager.  Not that I’m bitter or anything. 

If you’re one of those pathetic men who has to resort to catcalling to get a female’s attention then I’m willing to bet that you’ve never gotten laid in your life and probably never will.  Not without paying for it anyway.

16 Comments

    • Bunny Dixonjugs Is Daners' Bond Girl Name
    • Posted May 14, 2008 at 10:20 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Guess what, menfolk, a woman can be walking down the damn street NEKKID, and that still doesn’t give you the right to catcall.

    I don’t understand why Darwinism hasn’t taken these retarded people out yet. It confuses me.

    • Bunny Dixonjugs Is Daners' Bond Girl Name
    • Posted May 14, 2008 at 10:21 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Um, why is your site trying to sell me ED prescriptions? Or Asian girls for marriage?

  1. Some things never change, do they? What separates humans from the rest of the animal kingdom is an ingredient often missing or plucked out of the mix rather early in the development process.

  2. Just like rape, it isn’t about sex. It’s about power. If He can humiliate or frighten you, he has the power.

    Next time it happens, turn around, look straight at his crotch, and walk away laughing and shaking your head. 😉

  3. There nothing wrong with paying for it. Idiots need physical affection too.

  4. Shawn it was lovely to hear a guy who actually understands that.

    It’s offensive and intimidating and the guys that do it know that. A teenager does not need to know when the fat, old, unwashed construction worker is thinking dirty thoughts about her.

  5. Janers, Shawn is a she!

    With the catcalling, like from guys on construction sites and stuff, it’s not even about power like it is with sexual assaults. It’s about the “pack mentality”. They think they are impressing their buddies by doing it. If the woman came right at them, they’d all back off. They’re just doing it to impress their buddies.

  6. I’m a man. But I can change. If I have to, I guess.

  7. You’re probably not going to like this, but when I walk to work and someone yells or whistles at me out of his car, I actually like it. It could be because I’m *cough* over 50. Come to think of it, I kinda liked it before too. I didn’t think of it as offensive as much as I thought it was silly.

  8. Pan, I still remember my last “yo baby, yo baby, yo!” fondly–and I wasn’t wearing a mini-skirt, I was in a business suit with a knee-length skirt! I told the boys in question (yes, actual boys–teens) that while I appreciated their intention to compliment me, they needed to understand that I was an exception and if they really wanted to make points with the ladies they needed to stop. “For real?” “Yep.” We exchanged high-fives and went on with our lives. . .

  9. Isn’t Sissy the coolest? BTW, I meant no disrespect with the term “catcall.”

    Pan, shouldn’t you be practicing your Orlando rap?

  10. Yup. The cat’s away tonight, so this mouse is going to play.

  11. I dislike most attention from strangers, especially catcalls. Some guy whistled at me when I was wearing a skirt 5 years ago and I haven’t worn one since.

  12. Just more good reasons not to be caught in a dress or a skirt ever again. Like I needed more good reasons.

  13. oops, sorry Shawn.

    There goes my faith in menfolk.

    I think guys do it for power too. The reason guys do it at construction sites is coz there is group of them and u’ll be too intimated to confront them. They mostly do it from cars – they are protected in that little box and can speed off within minutes.

    A guy wouldn’t do it in a restaurant or in a store – because they know it’s rude, everyone will see it and the girl can easily go and confront him.

  14. Mine was in a store, Janers–but like I said, they were teens. Possibly they hadn’t attended catcalling school yet.


Leave a Reply

