Skip navigation

I have a gringe against Orlando Bloom.  It’s true.  I read it on the internets.

You guys remember the Hong Kong Phooey article I wrote on Blogcritics, don’t you?  When I was writing it I was thinking that no matter how obviously fake and stupid a satire piece is there’s always someone out there who’s gonna believe it.  Still, I was concerned when I had to publish it in the satire category, and downright bummed when they actually put “satire” in the title.

Never again will I underestimate the stupidity of the reading public.  A few hours after I posted the article someone jumped on the thread and chastised me for not getting my facts straight.  Success!

Today I took a mental health day from work (meaning that it’s after 12 and I’m still in my jammies).  I decided to Google “Orlando Bloom Hong Kong Phooey” and you’ll never guess what I found.  You don’t have to guess, I’ll print some of the highlights.

From The Orlando Bloom Files Message Board:

“I think Orlando is going to be in a different movie now,
called Hong Kong Fooey, based on the 1974 cartoon!
I just watched a clip of the show on YouTube
and I can’t stop giggling over the cuteness!”

“Lmao! I thought that was serious then and whas thinking what the hell?”

“But LauraLou, it’s not a joke, I think Orlando is seriously going to be in this “Hong Kong Phooey” film.
It looks so funny and completely out of Orlando’s regular roles, but it will be good for him”

“The article is under “satire” I think it’s a spoof thing tbh lol. Jumping into a filing cabinet causing him to dislocate his shoulder?  The lastest pics of him seem don’t show a sling.”  (I can just see her frantically searching through his latest pictures.)

 “I’m sorry, but reading that was just hilarious to me. I wonder who actually writes this stuff……I mean, who has the time to sit at a computer and make up satirical articles like this?” (Read:  I thought it was real too.)

“I’m sorry, but I actually believed the article… it didn’t really occure to me (or my mom) that the whole article was a joke I thought the director decided to change the name of the movie from The Red Circle toHong Kong Phooey.”

From OrlandoLove:

Yea I saw this online…and was afraid to post it… because the article was listed as “Satire”. So… I honestly do not find the interview to be valid. Doesn’t sound like Orlando at all.”

“yea, I didn’t know what to think. if you read it it seems plausible, but the Satire word makes all the difference.”‘

“AAUW! He dislocated his schoulder, so painfull. I think it’s funny though, he hasn’t changed a bit since he started acting, has he  ? “I’ve already dislocated my shoulder”, like “check out my warwound  , love that about him, still a boy .  But I didn’t know Kirsten is in it, great news! I really thought those to clicked, awsom!  A drumplaying ladybug, my god”

“well, I think all that stuff about Hong kong Phooey is just an stupid gossip. On the other hand I can’t understand why some part of the press has a gringe against Orlando and talk about him as a washed-up has-been actor. In first place, if he was considered a idol for teenagers it was because of the press wanted to make him pass off as an idol not as an actor. So this is completely stupid.”

And I’m not sure, but I think Click! Orlando! had a category set up for Hong Kong Phooey threads.  It’s there on the Google page but it’s not on the site anymore.

But wait, it gets better.  I was picked up stolen by a German magazine:

http://moviemates.de/Components/film.do?command=overview&task=UNREGISTERED

And mentioned in a Chinese one:

http://shanghaiist.com/2008/03/28/vision_shanghai.php

Why are they doing this to me?  Don’t they know I’ll never let the joke go now?

23 Comments

    • Anners the Sea Hag
    • Posted March 31, 2008 at 11:58 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    HAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAH!!! They think it’s real! Tards, the lot of them. Maybe this will get back to Orlando.

    You spoke too soon about not being linked by peoples! 😉

  1. Somehow I think he already knows about it Anners. I get the feeling there will be an article about it soon.

  2. At last! Someone is taking you seriously! Not that I wouldn’t take you seriously, especially when you have threatened me with threats before.

    “Who has time to sit at a computer and make up satirical articles like this?” Duh. Writers, you morons.

    It would be interesting to see how fast and far certain (untrue but non-actionable by attorneys) rumors could get flung.

    Good job, Wanda (who I knew when …)!

  3. Headline: National Enquirer
    Dateline: Tomorrow

    Orlando Bloom Dislocates Shoulder Playing Hong Kong Phooey With Mistress Wanda Rizzuto!

  4. Hahaha!

    People are dumb.

  5. I didn’t know it was you who wrote that Wanda, ur a clever lass.

    Dam, those people are fools for thinking it was real and I can’t believe one of them asked ‘who has the time to write satire?’ when she has the time to go to Orlando fansites and talk about non-existant movies.

  6. I told you guys I wouldn’t let it go.

    http://www.thespoof.com/news/spoof.cfm?headline=s4i32864

  7. OH MY GOD! This is friggin’ hilarious! You started a rumor that has circled the globe! I bow to the power of the internet. I can’t wait until another certain article does that too…

  8. What would make this even funnier is if Steven Spielberg picked up this movie to produce…

    🙂

  9. Oh, people…what do they teach them in these schools?

    • Daners Isadora Is Phucking Phierce!
    • Posted April 1, 2008 at 1:06 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    One person can be smart.

    People as a whole are idiots.

    Wanda, I bow to you!

  10. One person…that would be Sissy, right? 😉

    • Daners Isadora Is Phucking Phierce!
    • Posted April 1, 2008 at 5:55 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Jajajajajajajaja!

    Of course 🙂

  11. Hey, could someone Digg or Stumble the blogcritics article? I wanna see how far I can run with it.

    • Daners Isadora Is Phucking Phierce!
    • Posted April 1, 2008 at 6:39 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    How does I do that?

  12. There’s a link at the bottom of the article on Blogcritics.

  13. I’ll digg it, too.

  14. I dugg it! I think! Did I digg it right?

    Nighters.

  15. Come on, Wanda. We all know a website where the members believe everything on the internets. Satire is based on intelligence, there is little of that in the world.

    You are my hero.

  16. Gee, Steve, where the hell could that be???

    🙂

  17. Satire is based on intelligence…maybe. But didn’t any of these people that a grown ass man jumping into (and out of) a filing cabinet is a physical impossibility?

  18. U need to keep looking for this stuff. It’s really quite hilarious to see teens getting excited about Orlando playing a mild mannered canine janitor.

  19. This is just amazingly funny. It’s impossible to overestimate either the stupidity or the gullibility of the general public.

    I mean, for all we know, you made up all those funny quotes, too. 🙂

    (I don’t really think you did that. Please label the comment above “speculative scarcasm”, and treat accordingly.)


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] A while back I made up a silly little story about how Orlando Bloom was going to star in the live-action version of Hong Kong Phooey.  Remember?  And remember what a good old laugh we had when a couple of morons thought it was real? […]

Leave a Reply

