Skip navigation

I was going to write something else today, but I don’t really feel like it right now.

 

Heath Ledger died and I feel bad about it, even though I wasn’t really a big fan.  I will say that he was gut-wrenchingly awesome in Brokeback Mountain.  He also had a daughter about the same age as mine, which makes me really sad.

 

I joke a lot about Orlando Bloom on this blog.  I don’t know how I’d react if he ended up like Heath Ledger.  I’d probably feel really weird and guilty.  You know what they say, it’s all fun and games until someone loses an eye.

 

I don’t know why I’m writing this.  I’ll be back to my usual stupid, non-serious self later.

12 Comments

  1. I feel the same way, Wanda! I wasn’t a big fan of his, but, dayum! It’s just a shock, you know?

  2. I saw the headlines when I logged on this morning and my homepage popped up with the news all over it. I had to read the report several times before I understood what was written.
    I just don’t get it.

  3. I was horrified. It’s just so unexpected — you expect the next movie star that dies to be in his 90s, and this poor guy had barely got started. Like you, I wasn’t a huge fan, but I liked knowing he was around and talented. He’ll be missed.

  4. ((Wanda)) It’s okay to have a heart. It is shocking when it’s someone with so much promise.

  5. Wanda – I think we were posting at a similar moment in a similar mood. What a waste.

  6. I really don’t have any kind of connection or reference point with/for this young man but the fact of his death at such a young age makes me feel that it is a very tragic thing, regardless of the circumstances.

  7. I feel the same as you. I don’t really know one thing about Heather Ledger except what I read in People or online, but this made me so sad. I have a son the same age, and he is so full of life and joy. How sad that this very young man, and father of a beautiful little girl, is gone.
    How totally, totally sad.

  8. (I wrote Heather; clearly I meant Heath.)

  9. Yes, this makes me sad. I heard today that his time acting The Joker disturbed his sleep to the point of him getting sleeping pills. I immediately flashed on Keaton dropping the role of Batman because of his children, and wondered if Ledger might be alive now if he’d made a less edgy career choice.

  10. Corina, Nancy, you guys didn’t see Brokeback Mountain? You really should.

  11. I’ve only seen him in Brokeback Mountain, and he was great in it.

    You’re right, Wanda. Feels weird. He died too young. Especially since he could have been my own child.

  12. I have never seen Brokeback Mountain or any of his other films and frankly, I had to Google him to figure out who everyone was talking about.

    This is mainly because I don’t get to see movies until they show up on Starz or Encore, not because I don’t want to see the movie.

    It’s still sad when someone so young dies whether they were a celebrity or not.


Leave a Reply

