Skip navigation

I had this post all planned out for yesterday.  January 4 is the anniversary of the death of my sainted African brother Phil Lynott.  Phil was the lead singer of Thin Lizzy, one of my very favorite bands ever.  I was going to tell you about how he died in 1986, and how I remember hearing about it on the radio that day.  Then I was going to upload this kickin video of them singing Still In Love With You, live in concert in 1975, which he dedicated to his beloved mother.  You would have been bawling.  But I almost threw my computer out the window trying to download the video plugin.  It didn’t work.  You’re going to have to be content with linkage:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t5NlLzGXrbI

My excellent friend Wenderina just turned me onto a site called Celebrity Lookalike, or something like that.  You can upload your picture and it’ll tell you who you look like.  I was all excited to see Irene Cara because absolutely everyone tells me how I look like her.  I was also hoping against hope that they’d come up with Halle Berry or something.  You know who they said I look like?  Kim Basinger.  And Mandy Moore.  Riiiiight.

There have been a lot of my fellow refugees from another unmentionable site washing up on shore here.  I’ve also made a few new friends in the last couple of months.  Some of these guys are novice bloggers and for some reason they’ve been asking me for blogging advice.  I don’t know if I can help them with that.  I can point my faithful readers in their direction though.  So I’ve decided to do a new feature here at Deadpan where I reciprocify some of my excellent friends.  Be a good netizen and take a look.  (I should warn you that I may get distracted by something shiny and forget all about my new feature, but it’s the thought that counts).

First, my new friend and fan Jenna, your guide to the Vapid Culture universe.  She’s also a fellow recovering law student.  She rocks.

I was also pleasantly surprised to find Deb, a.k.a. The Rewriter, here on WordPress.  And she’s published too!  Yay Deb!

Finally (for now), The View From Fish In A Barrel by my most excellent friend Quill Gordon.  That’s not his real name.  But he is one of the Funniest People Alive, so please visit him (and his friend Eugene).

That’s it for now.  I have to plan for Orlando’s birfday next week.  Peace out.

18 Comments

  1. I love Thin Lizzy, thanks for the video link. Good luck getting that plugin!

  2. Kim Basinger!? Not even on your worst day sweetie!

    I’ll check out your friends.

    • Vicky In The Middle
    • Posted January 6, 2008 at 1:33 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    The video is cool. I remember Thin Lizzie quite well.

  3. Hi LeBlanc, thanks for stopping by!

    Shawn, you and Quill Gordon have already crossed paths fo shizzle.

    Vicky, I knew you were the coolest.

  4. Should we look for any news items regarding a crazed Orlando fan next week?

    🙂

  5. I should be so lucky Pan. I remain desperate for publicity.

  6. LOL- I used to get “You look like Kim Basinger” all the time when she was in her heyday- then I ran into her. We were next to each other, washing our hands at the same time in a public bathroom. (Glamorous, no?) I looked at her reflection, looked at mine, looked at her again, and thought ‘not so much’.

    Wanda, Thanks for the shout out! You rock too!!

  7. I get: You look like Dan Aykroyd. I don’t know if I should be honored or insulted.

  8. You’re welcome Jenna! But I’m sure you look a lot more like her than I do. She and I aren’t even the same color.

    Steve, was it SNL Dan Aykroyd or something more recent?

  9. You know, I’ve heard Thin Lizzy all my life and I just realized I’ve never seen them once. I’m going shortly to that link. I’m curious about the singer’s death now, too.
    Cool shout-out for the clueless among us! A lot of folks who comment here that I don’t know sound great, so it’ll be like expanding the universe inside my computer…

  10. Thanks for the shout out Wendy.

  11. Thanks for the mention Wanda – although I thought it was one of my lamest posts ever (nyquil and exhaustion induced posts should not be promoted!).

    I laughed so hard at your story about Kim Basinger lookalike results. And I was insulted because I actually got a couple of MEN photos back…yikes.

    Look forward to checking out your other friends!

  12. I haven’t had a chance to come by and read your blog. You are an excellent blogger. There is nothing wrong with looking like Basinger; someone once told me I reminded them of Stockard Channing. I get the weirdest “you remind me of…”
    Is that Celebrity Lookalike through myheritgae.com? I always get Beyonce, Madonna, Ash Rai, and Fay Wray. And some Asian dude.

  13. See Wenderina, that’s why we’re soul sisters, because you love NyQuil as much as I do! Well, that and a lot of other reasons too.

    Hi Harley! There’s is nothing wrong with looking like Kim Basinger I guess, except that I look nothing like her.

  14. You look like Kim Basinger because I look like Whoopi Goldberg. I’m not kidding–she’s one of the matches I got.

    Okay, so that picture was sort of sideways.
    Based on another one I got Julie Andrews, and a bunch of people I don’t know but who I also don’t look like.

  15. I don’t even want to know who they think I look like!

  16. Having a friend, or anyone close die has always preplexed me. All that life and creativity and rare kindness just can’t (like that!) be all gone. See my work “Dragonfly” at http://www.flatsongs.com

  17. Hi webmaster!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Deadpan » Tagged! on 09 Mar 2008 at 12:29 pm

    […] Some Random Stuff (Sorry, it’s the only one I got) […]

Leave a Reply

