Skip navigation

So yesterday before I left for the holiday festivities I got the bright idea that I should wash dishes.  I got to thinking about my grandmother for some reason (it wasn’t Thanksgiving related) and the next thing I knew I was bawling uncontrollably in my Palmolive.  This was strange because my grandmother died in 1979.  I guess I’m not over it yet.

Today I had to continue the battle of wits with my unarmed opponent (the Department of Motor Vehicles).  Mr. Rizzuto decided that he had to get some work done around the house and that I should take the baby with me.  I told him that I couldn’t possibly take that savage to the DMV with me, but it was all to no avail.  You can guess how it all turned out.

So I spent the better part of today on the verge of tears and wanting to be a widow.  We made up, but I feel like I’ve been through the ringer today.

If you’re so inclined, please take this opportunity to tell me how awesome I am.  And feel free to c&p comments from other threads on other websites where I’ve asked for pity before.  Thank you for your consideration.

27 Comments

  1. First of all, you are a total babe.

    Second of all, any rational being will be driven to the unpleasant kind of distraction by the mere thought of going to the DMV let alone having to take a being that presently is acting as though they are Attila the Hun reincarnated. (My theory of children is that Attila grabs control of them during dinner time. Of course, our children work differently and thus is could be that you get Attila like behavior at a different time of day).

    Third, I think they’ve put something in the water. I was feeling that way earlier this week. My sympathies.

    I think you’re totally cool and when you write funny stuff it makes me smile and laugh.

  2. Oh, no! You are just the most totally awesomenest, coolest, funniest, greatest, humorfully, wildly attractive although not to me because I don’t swing that way not that there’s anything wrong with that, writer-like person I’ve ever had the pleasure to know.

    I now have to go find stuff to C&P over here, unless I get distracted and do something else.

  3. Hey Gorgeous!
    Here is something I swiped (and altered) from Charles in an alternate world:

    Two pies are being baked in the oven.

    One pie says, “My god it’s hot in here!”

    The other pie says, “Holy shit, a talking pie!”

  4. Hee hee! That made me laugh Ivy. I’ll have to thank Charles too I guess.

    BGG and Suzy, you guys rock. I think I’ll go to bed and check on the rest of my pity posts tomorrow. Peace!

  5. It must be something in the air, sweetie. I got home from work today and cried all over hubby.

    You, of course are awsome and are allowed to be a little emotional. Heathen children and clueless husbands will do that to you.

  6. Ivy: Ha ha! I did laugh at that.

    And, that indicates how awesome Wanda is. She’s so clever that she was able to write a post that would prompt someone to repeat a joke that made me laugh and reminded me that I should really stalk Charles more often ’cause he is darned funny and nice.

    • thelittlefluffycat
    • Posted November 23, 2007 at 11:15 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Eminently stalkable–as are you, of course, Wanda! Awesome and stalkable, and of course beautiful! You should have phrased your argument with Mr. Rizzuto more along the lines of “it’s a shame to expose our poor tiny baby to that much wickedness and bad words”, maybe that would have worked.

  7. You’re a terrific friend and funny as all hell and in no way do you deserve the DMV. I would take this opportunity to show Mr. R, tearfully, exactly what jewelry you want for Christmas this year.

  8. Wanda, I’m sorry Mr. R was such a non-understanding spouse today. Tell him I said so. It’s all his fault!

    You get my pity. He doesn’t.

  9. You are totally awesome.

    When you bring the savage baby with you, don’t you get better service because people just want to get you out of the door? This happened with my own savage baby. He couldn’t speak until he was 3, but he sure knew how to scream.

    Our DMV was closed yesterday. Holiday.

  10. I hope you feel better today.

    I’d feel better if I wasn’t so fat that I can hardly breathe.

    I’m fatter than you. That should make you feel a LOT better.

  11. I feel much better today guys. But it’s only 9:49 a.m. I’ll let you know how the rest of the day turns out.

    • thelittlefluffycat
    • Posted November 24, 2007 at 11:03 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I’m way fatter than both of you. That’s what the fluff is for, it’s a disguise.

  12. There are very few who can make me smile the way that you do…that’s a biggie. Oh, and you have a cool name too. I kinda like it… for some odd reason

  13. oh, and the DMV makes me cringe without children involved. Kids just make it suck worse.

  14. Herechillin!

  15. You are witty, engaging, and you have lots of friends that hang on your every word.
    You are one of the lucky ones.
    And I like you.

  16. Late to the pity party, but I was watching Jackie Chan sing, LIVE!

    You is one cool babe. Everyone knows it, even Orlando, but he’s in denial.

    I agree with Pan, don’t wee ones get you better service when they kick up a fuss? I learned going to Canadian ERs that you can avoid the 6 hour wait if you make moan-like noises that frighten other people in the waiting room.

  17. Jackie Chan live, eh?

    New Yorkers are unimpressed with everything. I suspect New Yorkers who work at the DMV are desensitized to children.

    Hey JoJo, who hangs on my every word? Maybe I should start a cult. Send money.

  18. Of course you are awesome. They just don’t understand sometimes.

  19. I usually reserve all of my pity for myself, but I suppose I can spare you a dab:

    Poor baby.

  20. You are so wonderful that if you’re serious about being a widow, I will gladly kill your husband for you.

    And then I might or might not tell the police that you asked me to do it, but I certainly wouldn’t tell them until after I’d had the surgery to make me look more like Orlando Bloom, and taken you to Paradise and back as many times as you could stand it.

    Because I’m selfless like that.

  21. Wow! David, I now want to be just like you.

  22. I think we all better hope my husband never turns up dead.

  23. Wanda, I’m a bit late, but I just wanted to tell you you are wonderful, fabulous, and gorgeous!

  24. Thanks Danae! You didn’t shut down your blog yet, did you?

  25. I did but I have the link to my new one attached to my name.

    And you’re welcome!


Leave a Reply

