Skip navigation

My nine-year-old son and I were just watching Seinfeld and doing the Elaine dance around the living room.  You know, the one where she sticks her thumbs out and bounces around like she’s having a seizure?  It reminded me of what I’m thankful for this year.

This summer the Rizzutos were on vacation at a large northeastern amuesment park.  At one point we decided to get on one of those huge plastic slides, the one where you have to slide down on a burlap sack.  While we were waiting in line we were talking about our previous trips to amusement parks.  My son reminded us of the first time he went on one of those slides when he was little.

“I was scared to go down,” he said.  “Then Mom saw me and she climbed up and went down the slide with me.” 

I didn’t remember that at all, but it made me feel good.  My parents would never have done something like that with me when I was his age.  Not that they were bad parents, they just weren’t…what’s the word…?  Fun.  They weren’t fun.

I’m glad I’m not the kind of parent that’s too uptight to go down the Big Slide, and I’m thankful that my son remembered that, of all things.  Because he could have remembered some other stuff that I can’t blog about.

I’m going to go lay down now.  I think I hurt myself doing the Elaine dance.  Happy You Know What.

17 Comments

  1. You have a nine-year-old? How did I not know that? Hmmph. I think it is because I’m clueless.

    That makes me think you are even hotter than I thought you were before.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, too. This is nice, probably because it is long enough but not too long.

  3. You are a very cool mom.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. It’s nice to read good things from you again. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • thelittlefluffycat
    • Posted November 22, 2007 at 7:37 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Happy Thanksgiving to one of my blessings! 🙂

  5. Hey, some of my favorite peeps are here!

    Happy Thanksgiving everyone, I’m gonna go eat me some turkey now.

    (BGG, if we ever decide to meet please give me a couple of weeks notice so I can drop a few pouds. I’d hate to ruin the image you have of me.)

  6. There’s no need for pound droppage.

    I really am a stick man.

    There has to be padding somewhere.

  7. What a wonderful memory.
    My cousin and his wife have fostered a similar freedom to parent like that and it is a joy to be around.

  8. Great story. Happy Thanksgiving, too bad American don’t celebrate it in October like Canadians, the proper holiday.

  9. Happy Thanksgiving, Wanda! Of course you’re a fun mommy! 🙂

  10. Thats funny, and it got me thinking, although we did many things as a family, I dont remember either of my parents ever riding rides with me. No waterslides, big plastic slides, or anything that moved. Once, at Busch Gardens, I rode the chairlift from one country to the next, and I was looking down at my mother frantically rushing through the park to meet me on the other end.

  11. I third the you are a cool mums. Happy Thanksgiving!

  12. I did the big huge slide with my son when we went to Santa Cruz one time. We were looking at the pictures the other day. I remember it as being fun. For both of us.

    We used to go to Knotts Berry Farm a lot (I worked there at one time) and I went on all the rides with the kids. In fact, I had never been on a roller coaster until my kids wanted to go on one.

    I’m kind of numb this Turkey Day so I will go now. Happy Turkey Day.

  13. Just wait. They get older, and they like to remember real and imagined childhood “tragedies.”

    All I know is, I made Thanksgiving dinner and I rock. So do you. Happy Native Genocide Day!

  14. I did the big slide thing with mine too, and I have no recollection of my own parents engaging in such silly activity. Some things do change, apparently

  15. Ah, that was so sweet. I did those things too. Like take up roller blading and falling on my ass. And taking up snow skiing and falling on my head on the bunny slope. (Yeah, I had a concussion.) What we won’t do as parents.

  16. I think that as parents, we do for our own kids what our parents did not do for us. We always want “better” for our kids and if that is making fools of ourselves, so be it.


Leave a Reply

